Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

Towed new 5th wheeler - have concerns????

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2005, 01:12 PM
zog

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Towed new 5th wheeler - have concerns????

We have a 2004 Ram QC short bed with the Cummins, and love it!! BOught a Pilgrim 5th wheeler and really like it, too...BUT, I do have a cuple of questions I hope someone can help me with.

I am brand new to towing a trailer and am not sure I am doing it right. My big concern is for the truck...with the auto tranny, should I keep it in overdrive or pop the tow/haul button to lock out overdrive? Does the tow/haul button do anything besides locking out OD?

We only went 70 miles and it was fairly flat terrain. The transmission did not gear down out of OD ever, except when reducing speed ro coming to a stop. A few times, I backed off the throttle as the engine hit over 2000 rpm, which allowed the transmission to shift into the next higher gear. Am I lugging the engine by doing this? Is it better to wind out the engine a little?

When we parked the trailer at the campsite, I left the engine run a few minutes to cool it down...is this the correct thing to do?? I heard it somewhere but can't remember where...

Sorry to sound dumb, but this is my first diesel and I am just not real sure about it yet.
Old 03-21-2005, 01:44 PM

Zog,

Get yourself some gauges for your truck. Its cheap insurance. With this you can keep an eye on your trans temps and your exhaust gas temp if thigs get to hot you simply let up a little.
I don't have the tow haul on my 02 but as long as your trans isn't shifting a lot you should be fine at highway speeds, if on back roads or hilly roads go ahead and use it.
As far as the 2000rpms I have 4.10 rear in mine and I turn 21-2200 traveling 65-70mph (OD on) this is not bad. Little more fuel but will not hurt this motor.

Happy trails.
Old 03-21-2005, 01:56 PM
zog