Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

New elec brakes still dont work?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2006, 06:15 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New elec brakes still dont work?

2001 dodge CTD.

I have just installed complete new electric drums and wired them in. but they do not work.

the actuator in my truck has a little green light that will come on when the trailer is plugged in.

If I manually move the actuator switch I can hear a buzzing sound coming from the master cyl area also the sound can be heard underneath the trailer.

Any ideas would really be appreciated.

I pull this the trailer for a living and cannot afford to take it somewhere an pay someone to repair it

Its a 18ft trailer with 10 inch drum brakes.
Old 11-18-2006, 07:21 PM

adjusted them up ? takes a few miles to get them to seat somtimes
drive it a few miles then adjust them back up see where you are at
Old 11-18-2006, 08:01 PM

Originally Posted by roberts11260
2001 dodge CTD.

I have just installed complete new electric drums and wired them in. but they do not work.

the actuator in my truck has a little green light that will come on when the trailer is plugged in.

If I manually move the actuator switch I can hear a buzzing sound coming from the master cyl area also the sound can be heard underneath the trailer.

Any ideas would really be appreciated.
I would check the wiring again and ensure you've got a good ground and that the connector is clean.

It wasn't clear to me if the "little green light" comes on now when the trailer is plugged in.

What kind of electric brake controller is it? And why would there be something buzzing coming from the Master Cylinder area? Did you do some work there? I'll hazard a WAG that it didn't buzz before you re-wired.

How many axles have brakes?