Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

New to a 48 foot trailer. Need advise please ....

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2005, 05:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New to a 48 foot trailer. Need advise please ....

Hi, I'm brand new to a long trailer. I've hauled a 24' enclosed trailer for years, and now I just bought a 48' enclosed Vintage Outlaw trailer gooseneck. Anyhow, I'm picking it up in the middle of March, and I really wanna get ready for it. I've got a '99 Dodge Dually extended cab with a 24v 5.9 diesel, and 5 speed transmission.

What do you suggest ??

* Jacobs exhaust brake ??

* 4" exhaust ??

* How about EGT gauge, and where to install on the exhaust for accurate readings ??

I've got the gooseneck hitch already in the truck, and I was told that they're actually better than the fifth wheel........... Is this true ??

Also, I've got a large 7 blade electrical plug receptical on the bumper that I used for my tag along. Do I need to relocate this for the gooseneck, or what do you suggest ??

I've got my CDL, so that shouldn't be a problem, but is there anything I need to know when going through any particular states, and how can I find out ??

Anything else you could tell me would be greatly appreciated too.

Thanks !!!!!!!
Old 02-26-2005, 06:00 PM

Also, What's the Wastegate Mod, where do I get it, and how much are they ??
Old 02-26-2005, 06:29 PM
DPG