Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

Mobile broadband

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2006, 04:16 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Mobile broadband

Any of you transporter's or camper's use a wireless mobile broadband card in your laptop. Just wondering if they are worth a hoot. If so, what do you have. Thank's.
Old 03-19-2006, 04:31 PM
'People of Wal-Mart' 2010 finalist

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
all I have it the cable to use my phone as a modem. you get dialup speeds,but it works for reporting in and checking emails.
Old 03-19-2006, 04:38 PM

Not sure where you go but you may want to check out Verizon's wireless service. They have pretty fast speeds (400-600k steady with quicker bursts) for very reasonable prices ~$70/month. I'm a computer geek by trade and have several execs at work using them. They are very happy with them. I mentioned where you may go as its not available in all areas, where its not available, it'll go about dial up speed, in the areas where it is available though, its fast.
Old 03-19-2006, 05:35 PM
Chapter President

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Fronty Owner
all I have it the cable to use my phone as a modem. you get dialup speeds,but it works for reporting in and checking emails.
What service do you use? I have unlimited Cingular internet, but was told by them a couple of days ago that an additional service plan is needed to set the phone up as a modem.
Old 03-19-2006, 06:41 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
I'm going to be putting my truck back on the road transporting car's, so I'll be going all over the country. This time I'll be running under my own authority, so I'll have to get all my own load's, and need the internet somewhat.

Is one company really any better than the other's, or are they all about the same.
Old 03-19-2006, 06:43 PM
Chapter President