Towing and Hauling / RV Discuss towing and hauling here. Share your tips and tricks. RV and camping discussion welcome.

Max. recommended tongue weight for gooseneck

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2004, 09:53 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Max. recommended tongue weight for gooseneck

I've got an '01.5 2500 SB with the factory camper package & tow package. I'm looking into replacing my 18' flatbed bumper pull trailer with a 25' or 28' gooseneck flatbed. I'm new to gooseneck trailers and was wondering about the maximum recommended tongue weigh that I can put on the ball without over loading the truck?

For instance, on a 25' 14,000# trailer with a gross trailer weight of 11,500# and the load configured as necessary, I calculate a tongue weight of about 2,735#. Comments?

I could swap ends with part of the load and reduce the tongue weight to about 2135#, but that is not the preferred load-out.
Old 02-18-2004, 10:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well the limiting factor is the GVWR of your truck.

So take the GVWR and subtract off the actaully weight of the truck and what ever is left is you max pin weight you can have. That is provided that you don't go over your rear axle weight.

So I guess thier is no clear answer for you unless you can give us your

1) GVWR (gross vehice weight rating)
2) weight of your truck full of fuel and driver
3) RAWR (rear axle weight raiting) found on the drivers door sticker
Old 02-18-2004, 11:33 AM