Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

white clearance lights question....i need this resolved

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2010, 04:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
white clearance lights question....i need this resolved

Is it illegal to have white clearance lights on the top of my cab?? A few people have told me that they must be amber if they're facing forward but I have seen some white ones before. I have clear clearance lights (clear lenses) but they came with the amber LEDs so I ordered white LEDs to replace them. But if it is illegal for some reason, I won't bother switching the LEDs out, so someone let me know! thanks

Dane
Old 08-28-2010, 04:07 PM
Administrator/Jarhead

Received 19 Likes on 19 Posts
I've been running them for almost 4 years, and I have not had a problem...
Old 08-28-2010, 10:23 PM

Yes depending on what state you live in. It is one of those things that you can get away with if for 4 years and then one day it will bite you in the butt.
Ask yourself how bad is the economy in your state. If it is bad and the Bears are hungry for anything to generate and income.
Old 08-29-2010, 01:12 AM
I wish I was as fine, as those who work the pipeline!

There supposed to be amber when lit. The clear lenses are ok. But at night, they should be amber. Lighting is a highway safety thing. White lights are for roadway illumination, or vehicle identification i.e. license plate (but they can not face forward). All others must be amber (front) or red (rear). If you see white and/or lights, the vehicle is moving toward you. Red, same direction as you. Always better to follow the rules, as Rott-n-dawg states they are definitely looking now.