Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

What should I make at work for my truck?

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 09:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What should I make at work for my truck?

It's 10:00AM. I work til 4:00PM. Not only that, but I have nothing to do for the rest of the day. I'm an engineer, but I can run the manual machines down in the shop too.

So what could I and should I make with whats available? Unlimited material resources, but limited to non-CNC machines since our programmer is out all week too.

You guys got any ideas?!
Old 05-06-2008, 09:04 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
bumpers.....or exhaust
Old 05-06-2008, 09:05 AM
Banned

some battery tie downs would be a nice little project if you care what it looks like under the hood.

if you had a manual i would say a nice shift **** turned down on a lathe. you could do one for the 4x4 shifter tho
Old 05-06-2008, 09:21 AM

Originally Posted by rollincoal02
some battery tie downs would be a nice little project if you care what it looks like under the hood.

if you had a manual i would say a nice shift **** turned down on a lathe. you could do one for the 4x4 shifter tho
You mean like this?

Got bored awhile back and modeled them up, just never made them. I'll have to track down some aluminum today and see what I can make. Definitely won't be able to put the writing in
Old 05-06-2008, 12:26 PM

psh, it aint THAT hard to write on a manual mill. Just like an etch-a-sketch

Really tho, if you wanted you could plasma cut then clean her up w/ a die grinder or dremel. but thats only if you wanted to get artsy fartsy.

I don't know what you got at your shop but if you got welding equipment I'd make some side steps, headache rack, bumpers, exhaust, steering box stabilizer, lift kit, or just machine some cool aluminium accents for the cab.