Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

What am I looking for in an injector?

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2008, 01:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What am I looking for in an injector?

I have some +80hp's in now. Knowing the previous owner, they're good quality stuff. I wanna jump up to 150-160's but I have no clue what I'm actually looking for. I'm still learning everything since I didn't grow up around diesel stuff. I've seen some terms thrown around and I don't know what some of it means. Any help or recommendations would help A LOT. Thanks.
Old 10-27-2008, 02:11 PM

Received 263 Likes on 235 Posts
There are a lot of injectors around, and there seems to be some confusion.
First, there is the rating. Some manufacturers claim xxx hp over stock, but do not state what other mods have been done- so the xxx hp injector from one company can be the same flow rate as an yyy injector from somebody else. If you look at the dyno results from guys running the same turbo and box you have you will get an idea of how much this or that injector is going to do for you.
There is much more than just flow rate to an injector- the atomisation and the spray pattern and geometry do play a very important role. Let's assume that you use a drill bit on your injector holes and double their diameter- we have 4 times the area, and now this injector is 4x215=860hp, meaning 645hp over stock (Just kidding!!) - only like this the injector will only help you either keep your engine from firing for good or, if you get it running, to belch smoke and melt the engine.
The difference in atomization can partially be countered by timing, meaning that worse atomization can be countered by earlier timing- so EGTs seem to be in check, but this will increase piston temp, and BMEP, so this is bad for your head gasket.