Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Turbo's

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2005, 07:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Turbo's

I am planning on buying and building a 96-97 Dodge Diesel, manual, 4X4. I am new at Diesel upgrading, but am a mechanic so I learn quickly. ( hehe just threw that in there so you dont think im a lawnchair weekend truckwasher or something) I am looking to attain 400+, Is it possible to upgrade the trucks current turbo, or should I buy something like a "AUR-2-D-KIT-94-02 Aurora 2000 Turbo Kit,?" Also ... is there some secret diesel preformance bible out there I havent seen yet? (comeon you can tell me ... please? hehe) Anyone able to get me a good view of their buildsheet? I am looking to do this right the first time and any good advice for stuff i can research for the build would be greatly appreicated. I like to research and ask others advice before spending 3k on a worthless upgrade. ANy advice and starting out info would be great ... since I know none of you are going to try and pursaude me to buy a toyota or something like that ... lol.
Old 11-15-2005, 09:20 PM

I would say to keep your EGT's in check you might want to upgrade your turbo. Talk to Van, Curt, or Patty Haisley at Haisley Machine 877-948-3164. The only thing they do is Cummins and they are awsome to work with.
Old 11-15-2005, 10:40 PM

A turbo upgrade is nice to keep egt's in check, but you can modify your stock turbo, like i did with different exhaust housings and compressor housing. Right now I just put in the 60mm compressor wheel kit, and have a 14cm exhaust housing. If you get a 96 or 97 manual then it will have the 215hp pump which can get you to 400hp fairly easy. I am in the high 300's with the fuel plate full forward and the turbo upgrades plus 16.5* timing.