Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Remote starters

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2005, 10:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Remote starters

So who has remote starts?
Which system do you have?
How do you like it?
Old 11-16-2005, 11:25 PM

polar start

i have a polar start alarm/starter and have had numerous problems very finicky it works when it wants too, i would not recommend it. i have not decided what to go with next. it gets hard shopping for a man trans.
Old 11-17-2005, 12:31 AM

I am an Install Tech at Circuit City. I will tell you the only thing you need to know is DEI (Directed electronics Incorporated). It carries a LIFETIME warranty on everything but the transmiters and you can start your car from 750 ft or more away. They have a turbo timer built in, You can even turn your heated seats on and off. I have a two way version that confirms the start and beeps or vibrates to let you know if an intruder is messing with you rig. They wait for the grid heaters and are pretty cheap. 159 installed. I love mine,
P.S. Dont mess with CODE, Audiovox, and some other random no namers. They are overcomplicated and other wise the "Daewoo" of remote starts.
Old 11-17-2005, 07:17 AM

dont waste your money on a remote start unless you have an exhauat brake or a high idle kit. Any idle under 1200 rpm the engine doesnt make heat, hence it wont warm up, and if its idled for longer than 15-20 minutes like this could cause damage.
Old 11-17-2005, 07:25 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts