Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Performance thoughts

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2005, 09:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Performance thoughts

I'm new to the Diesel world. I just bought a 1995 4x4 1 ton. It has a AT ugh but the price was really good. I'm pulling a fifth wheel trailer about 9,000lbs. I've been reading all the threads on performance options now I'm even more confused. With what I got, I'm wondering what you all might recomend that I do to increase performance. Will boosting it up to any harm to the transmission? It has about 120K on it. I looked at the Banks Stinger Plus but from what I have been reading not the best option. Also looking at putting in some gauges. What is suggested?
I'm a novice to diesels so would need something that is fairly easy to do!
Thanks again
Old 07-15-2005, 10:06 AM

I am not really gonna chime in hear because I have an 01, and hardly any knowledge trucks of different years, but I will offer a friendly suggestion.

I got creamed when I first used this sight around a year ago, I don't want you to go through the same thing.

Fill out your signature so the veterans of this site (meaning long haulers) will know what they are dealing with.
Old 07-15-2005, 10:13 AM

welcome aboard

Do a set of gages, then a #10 torque plate and a 3gsk. These all come with good instructions and can be bought for around $500. You will not believe the differance and a stock tranny will hold up if it is in decent shape. Be sure that the tranny has been serviced. Then do some reading on here and do whatever else you need to calm the addiction of the bomb bug.

bomb = better of moddified baby
Old 07-15-2005, 10:15 AM

Start with at least 3 gauges (boost/pryo/tranny) and go from there.
Old 07-15-2005, 10:21 AM

Thanks Happy GA for the heads up . Will work on it.
Old 07-15-2005, 10:41 AM