Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

More Fuel pressure questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2008, 09:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
More Fuel pressure questions

OK you'll have to bear with me here I Am A Newbie

But here's what I got
2001.5 2500 5.9 HO NV5600 3.54 136K (40K HARD)Miles
4" Silverline SS
Just Installed 500 miles ago Edge Juice w/Attitude (B-Day Present, Gotta love My wife)
Problem is The fuel pressure reading on the Attitude is all over the place
15 @ Idle
will hold at least 10 most of the time dosent matter if its WOT or 50% throttle towing 15,000 lbs @70mph on a 5% grade
but while holding a speed setting it will drop off to 2-3 BUT if I smash the loud pedal it CLIMBS back up to 10-13 for a while then drops off again
I AM CONFUSED!!!
a few more details:
new fuel filter 1000 miles ago
OEM Lift Pump 42000 miles ago
Original VP44
Old 08-29-2008, 09:41 PM
Always a day late, and a dollar short.

Sounds like it time for an aftermaket lift pump. I reckon the OEM is on the engine and not in the tank, correct?
Old 08-29-2008, 10:01 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
It could be the sender. Make sure your readings are valid before you go condemning the LP based on them.

The vast majority of warranty claimed LPs we get back from the field are perfectly good pumps..

jmo
Old 08-29-2008, 10:05 PM

Correct ...the lift pump is on the motor

then comes the million dollar question this is a WORK Truck I Need to keep it as SIMPLE AND RELIABLE (economical would be nice too)
Any Recommendations???

But I still dont understand how if the lift pump is failing how the pressue goes UP with the liberal application of throttle.
Old 08-29-2008, 10:07 PM

Brand new sender with the Attitude kit
but thats not to say its not a faulty imported part
Old 08-29-2008, 10:16 PM
Always a day late, and a dollar short.