Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Mechanic changed my fuel plate

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2006, 05:34 PM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have been suffering from a slow loss of power and torque over a long period of time. The truck can now hardly get out of its own way, and it used to run like a bat out of hell. I have taken the truck to a number of mechanics, but no luck. I just got a call from the latest one (#4) and he, or his office said he replaced my TST #10, which I installed, with a Bosch plate. The office did not have any information about the new plate. I am really confused. I am not a great mechanic, but I have learned a lot through DTR and my own work on the engine, but I cannot see how the fuel plate could be causing the problems I have been experiencing. I have to admit, I have not driven the truck yet, but is there ANY way the plate could be causing a very slow loss of power and torque?
Old 02-01-2006, 05:37 PM
Chapter President

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Slow power loss?? Not really likely. The fuel plate will administer the same rack travel if the truck is new or old. Slow power loss could be an air supply problem or a lift pump issue, overflow valve or restriction in the fuel supply.
Mind my ignorance, I have not followed all of your threads.. Time to do a search....
Old 02-01-2006, 05:54 PM

What kind of fuel pressure readings did you get? is the problem through the whole rev range or is it worse at the low end or high end? any smoke?
Old 02-01-2006, 06:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts