Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

installing governer spring kit (easy?)

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2002, 11:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
installing governer spring kit (easy?)

I am a fairly good mechanic ie I build my own race cars and installed a #6 TST plate easily. I am trying to find out about installing a 3k governor spring kit. Hard, easy? Scale of 1-10 with 10 being pull and rebuild an engine and 1 being an oil change, how ahrd would it be?<br><br>Thanks!<br>Don M.
Old 11-26-2002, 11:53 AM

Re:installing governer spring kit (easy?)

Installing the 300GSK is not difficult, but it is a little intimidating the first time.<br><br>You can go into the governor either through the top, under the plate, or through the thin access nut on the side of the pump.<br><br>In either case, you need to remove the airhorn, etc.<br><br>Once inside, rotate the engine until you see the springs. They are fastened with a split nut that &quot;clicks&quot; on a ratchet...count the number of clicks when you remove the springs. Follow the instructions for which springs to install. Turn the engine to the next set of springs, and repeat.<br><br>Put everything back together. The most difficult part of going through the side is coping with one of the solenoid hold down bolts. Through the top, you need to have a good magnet in case something falls.<br><br>You may need to adjust the idle when you are finished.<br>george
Old 11-27-2002, 06:50 AM

turbospl311,<br>On your scale of 1 to 10 I'd give it a 3. I found it to be more tedious than anything. I went in through the top of the pump and felt like I was doing brain surgury or something. A good magnet is a must ;D
Old 11-29-2002, 08:07 PM