Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Injector Pump Advice PLEASE!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2007, 01:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Injector Pump Advice PLEASE!!

My injector pump recently went out, I've posted in the HELP forum a few times, I just need some advice on what to get as a replacement. I have established that the SO VP44 is a better choice than the HO VP44, however, "industrialinjection.com" sales a Hot Rod VP44 that they claim to make up to 100 extra hp on 98.5-02 Cummins. Someone please tell me if I need the Hot Rod pump or just the Standard Output, OR some other pump out there. As you can tell I'm not that technical YET with diesel parts.
Old 12-11-2007, 02:14 PM

The most recomended pump would be the factory pump of the SO trucks (5 speeds for ease of clarification), Theres quite a few options (Hot Rod's, Monsters, SO , HO) I personally recomend using the SO the best high end power results are with the SO pump! Lots of folks run the HRVP or hot rod pump and many with good results, but for the same amount of cash , a edge comp drag or similar fueling box will net the same results without the pump change! Mind you, the highest HP Vp trucks run SO pumps with the exception of a few trucks! Some folks feel the monster pump is a option, at this time until further testing is done, many including myself feel its a waste of money!
The Monsters are a hit and miss pump, some provide great results , some provide problems and more problems!
Provide your truck a good fuel system, FASS or the system of your prefrence and your VP will give great service, Make sure you run a high quality fuel treatment such as Stanadyne or Powerservice (Many other brands as well) to assist in lubricity where the new fuel is lacking!

The HRVP44 Mainly dose what a good fueling box would do! I would stay SO pump!