Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

hot rod vs HO vs SO

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2006, 02:26 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
hot rod vs HO vs SO

Alright, what makes the HR pump, a HR pump? is it electrical or mechanical? Does it have a bigger plunger in it than the HO's and SO's. i know the so plungers are bigger than the ho's, but never quite understood what made the HR pump a HR pump.

And im fixing to switch my HO pump to a SO. id like to get some dyno numbers before and after. Anybody know of a dyno close to Branson, Missouri?
Old 10-15-2006, 02:45 PM

I am no pump expert by any means....

I am pretty sure you take the delivery valve/barrel section off of the SO pump and install it into an HO pump.

Someone tell me if I am wrong here.....
Old 10-15-2006, 02:58 PM
Registered

now what part of the HO pump makes it better with injectors, but not very good with boxes???

Does the HR pump give you the performance of the HO pump on injectors, and the performance of the SO pump on boxes???
Old 10-15-2006, 03:05 PM

The HRVP44 works great with boxes...who ever said it didnt is misinformed.

Yes, the Hot Rod pump will give you performance over stock with nothing else installed.
The benefits for those with an SO pump will be increased bottom end fueling with the same benefits up top(absolute fuel volume).
For those with an HO will also see some increased low end fueling but will enjoy the benefits of the SO pump up top...

On another note. I dont think its possible to swap in an SO pump on an HO truck.
I do know that you can install an HO pump on a SO truck without issue though (although if you are going for max hp this will hurt you).

HRVP44's are model specific also.
Old 10-15-2006, 03:12 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by PourinDiesel