Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Head Gasket Blown

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2007, 08:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Head Gasket Blown

I put a new cometic head gasket in after having big problems with it first one (you can look up my other post) I been driving the truck for about 2 weeks and running 50 lbs+or- a little on stage six and egts about 1300 and eveything has been working great, but I was messing around with a mustang having a few light races and when I got home there was a coolent pushing out of the overflow bottle- no temp spikes or high egts and no external coolent leaks, the truck sounds ok but now it just pushes all of the coolent out- refilled the system and the same thing happens- this motor has something wrong with it that I can not see. I work on marine diesels for a living and have done plenty of head jobs and rebuilds, I had nothing but problems with the stock engine when I got the truck and this tops it.
Old 11-23-2007, 10:31 PM
Chapter President

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Take it for what it's worth, IMO it's a combination of the HR pump on a HO engine with a timing box.
Old 11-23-2007, 10:32 PM

Yet another cometic gasket issue...
Old 11-23-2007, 10:54 PM

I had replied in your last post about some possible reasons why your gasket didn't hang in there and as luck would have it mine failed as well. It held about 2 weeks at 60-70psi then started filling the OF bottle. After literally hours of inspection on the head and block surface I believe the leak may have been between the layers as there are no signs on the block or head?
Anyway I just finished setting the freshly o-ringed head on the new stock gasket and should have it running by tomorrow afternoon. I think the MLS gaskets should be left to the third gen crowd.
Old 11-24-2007, 07:35 AM