Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Fuel Pressure Gauge ?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2007, 02:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel Pressure Gauge ?

Okay guys. i'm pretty sure it's been posted but i can't find what i'm really looking for. My truck has been acting kind of funny lately and my milage has dropped quite a bit in the past few months so i just purchased a cheap 1.5" Jegs 0-30psi fuel pressure gauge to see what going on with the LP. Which i know i need to replace the FF also, but haven't had the time. Maybe later this week since i finally got a couple days off. I've been trying to save up the money to get a set of Isspro's but it's taking longer than originally planned because i keep getting unexpected expenses. I'll still get them just instead of FP i'll get a tranny temp gauge now. Anyways, i'm still fairly new to diesels and i have about $40 left to work with as far as installing this gauge, so cheapest route possible right now. Mainly i'm just wanting to know if i can just connect the pressure line straight to the schraider valve on the vp44 where the dust cap is now if i remove the valve core because i keep seeing everyone using banjo bolts instead? Which it doesn't bother me if i have to put a banjo bolt in it's place, just wandering. Then i'm going to put either a needle or ball valve inline so incase of a leak it can be turned off. Please help me out on your guys set up and pics would be great.
Old 10-17-2007, 05:29 PM

Remove the valve core from the schreader valve,

There is brass adapters in the the hardware store that will mate to the schreader valve, ( have to keep diging through the box's ) I found a VERY short coupler ( 2 female nuts , with short copper tube ) and used an adapter to compression fitting ( 1/8 ) copper,
May have to get the tubing from Napa or buy a kit, about 10 bucks...