Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

FP Gage ?s

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2008, 08:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
FP Gage ?s

Alright guys,

Pardon me as I am still very new to the diesel world. I will get right to the point.

I have searched this forum pretty extensively, but am still not sure.

I am going to install a FP gage, but have quite a few lingering questions.

First off my engine is still stock and plan to keep it that way for a while, but I have read about the value of the FP gage.

1) Mechanical or Electric (which brand is more reputable)?

2) Where to place, Schrader valve before IP, buy new fuel filter cap from Genos, or any other suggestions?

3) How involved is the install (time, tools, etc..)?

Thank you guys for the advice and suggestions.

James
Old 08-27-2008, 08:48 PM

It is a pretty easy install. I have a mechanical gauge. All I did was tee into the fuel line with some brass fittings, but I'm sure other people know of better ways to hook it up. Mine works fine and I did use an isolator(just becouse it came with my kit) Most people say that the isolators are nothin but trouble, but mines been ok so far.
Old 08-27-2008, 09:11 PM

How long have you had the gage w/ isolator?

Which brand did you go with?

Any trouble with fuel leaks, T'ing it up?

Thanks for the reply.
Old 08-28-2008, 01:19 AM

I'm running an autometer electric in both my trucks. 3 years on the one gauge, never an issue. I got some tapped banjos initially from Geno's garage, but have gone to big lines with JIC fittings, so I have it tapped directly into the filter housing (not an option on the newer housings). Tapped banjo is my bolt, nice and clean install.
Old 08-28-2008, 04:48 AM