Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Building a strong tow rig...what's the right way? (02 CTD)

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2005, 05:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Building a strong tow rig...what's the right way? (02 CTD)

I'm new to this and have been doing a lot of research on the best way to gain power for towing. Intake, 4" and gauges are a given. After that there are too many choices. All the fueling box choices: Edge, Quadzilla, Bullydog. Then there are injectors, and then to add more choices there’s the mad ecm. I'm lost here and have no idea which way to go. It seems most like the Edge Comp, but I've read some posts the EZ are problematic? Haven't heard much about Bullydog and the Quadzilla boxes seem to be on the extreme side? Nobody talks much about hypertech tuners.

Would an Edge comp alone be best? Or would a mad ecm (I really like what I've read about this) and 80-100hp injectors be the most reliable way to go? To be sure I understand, injectors alone will gain without a fueling box, right? This is my DD too, so fuel, reliability, fuel economy and drivability are important.

I know there's not a single right answer but if you're happy with your combo, post it up!
Old 07-22-2005, 05:39 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
How much you pulling and what kind of terrain are you planning on towing in? I pull my 24ft enclosed up some pretty steep grades and just adding an EZ edge and modding the wastegate on the turbo has made my towing experience a good one.
Old 07-22-2005, 05:46 PM

I'm pulling <6000 over the Colorado passes. It pulls pretty good stock but it needs more, like I don't want to feel it back there How long have you been runing the EZ?

EDIT: any links on how to mod the wastegate?
Old 07-22-2005, 05:53 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post