Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Blow-off Valves

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2003, 02:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Blow-off Valves

I am new to the diesel arena, only owning my Ram for 3 weeks now. I have been into building performance gas engines for quite a while, so it has taken some relearning to the philosophies of diesel performance. One thing I haven't seen anyone use yet is a Blow Off Valve (BOV). Especially making over 20lbs of boost, it would seem to me to be beneficial to have one in order to maintain turbo RPM's in between shifts. Almost all the turbo ricer guys have one. It virtually elimates turbo lag. I am look for some expertise from some you diesel building veterans...Any reasons for not using one? I found a company that makes one for diesels. Let me know what ya'll think...

HKS BOV

-Muzzy
Old 09-01-2003, 09:13 AM

Re:Blow-off Valves

We have no throttle body, which I am sure you have figured out? Thats why you don't see blowoff valves "common".
Old 09-01-2003, 12:05 PM

BD power offers a blow-off valve for our trucks.
Usually the ricer stuff is a little too low volume and light duty for our boost and volume applications.
I would like to get one someday, no one likes to bark expensive aftermarket turbos.

Are they necessary, not really.

--Justin
Old 09-02-2003, 12:15 AM

I'm runnung a BOV and it does help. FYI stay away from the HKS it can be bad news, especially with N2O.
Old 09-02-2003, 10:31 AM

Thanks for the feedback. Due to the expense, it definitely wouldn't be my first mod for the money.

Crawler-

How much difference did it make? Did you notice less lag on on the turbo spooling up? Thanks.

-Muzzy
Old 09-02-2003, 01:57 PM

A little faster "re-spool" after shifts. But, the main goal for my blow-off was to keep the turbo in one piece.
Old 09-02-2003, 03:52 PM

Crawler,