Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Big line kit?

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2006, 04:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Big line kit?

Hi to all, newbie here with a question involving the dredded intank lift pumps. Do you think that a big line kit for the fuel system would let the intank lift pump supply enough fuel to the injector pump on a truck with a programmer, K & N filter, and 4" exhaust? I have a low pressure fuel light that comes on supposedly at 5 pounds or less and it is on an awful lot. Specially in winter when fuel is thick, or/and when you use the throttle. In neutral or park @ idle it flickers for a while after start up in the winter cold days, but warm days it is ok, and if in park or neutral you can tach it up to 2000rpm and the light won't come on when warm out, but when you put a load on it....different story. Comes on going up hills, or up "on ramps" with no trailer on even with the programmer not being used and stock settings are being used.
And if you think the big line kit would work....where do you get one, and how much am I looking at? Also my low fuel pressure light from BD screws into the banjo fitting at the injector pump, so if I eliminate this banjo is there a way to still connect my low fuel pressure switch? I don't want to loose this added safety warning device!
Old 03-09-2006, 04:18 PM

The stock lift pump with stock lines will support ~350rwhp if the pump is doing it's job properly. 12-14psi at idle is what you want, and no less than 6psi at WOT.

Typically, from 350-425hp, the stock pump will do fine with the addition of larger fuel lines and AN style fittings (remove all the banjo fittings and bolts).

From 425hp and up, a pusher is also needed.
Old 03-09-2006, 06:29 PM
Chapter President

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts