Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

Advice Appreciated

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2006, 11:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice Appreciated

Hey everyone, I'm new to all of this and need your advice. I have a 2000 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins with auto tranny. It's totally stock right now with about 95,000 miles. Wife gave the go ahead for performance upgrades and I'm like a kid in a candy store. I was thinking about AFE stage 2 intake, MBRP 4" exhaust, edge juice with attitude, Mag-Hytec tranny pan and diff covers and Rancho RS9000 shocks. Would appreciate any input on other mods or whether these are good choices. Also, do I need to address and fuel pump issues? Thanks for the help.
Old 05-25-2006, 12:00 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the DTR!
That's a nice list, but more info would help. Fill in signature with tranny also, please!

Edge Juice is new and early reports are apparently good. I prefer the Smarty for timing instead of the timing offered from Edge products. Smarty and a set of bigger injectors would be my choice...but your list is not a mistake...just different!
Scotty II will give as good or better air and save some money for other stuff. Your choice.... both are excellent.

If manual tranny...will need clutch if playing hard with the Juice. If an auto... will need a bigger turbo and some trans support!
AND...First step is always GAUGES! Always...if your smart.

Edit: just saw the Mag Hy-Tec Tranny pan...so it's an Automatic, right? Juice will raise Heck with torque convertor (on higher settings) and your small turbo (smaller than the manuals) will cause high EGT's.
Good Luck!

RJ
Old 05-25-2006, 12:04 PM

Welcome aboard.
I would get gauges before you do anything (does the Edge J/A have gauges built in?)
I would then take care of the intake/exhaust as you have outlined.
Then go for the power mods.