Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

5" Exhaust with 6" Tips, and E-Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2003, 09:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5" Exhaust with 6" Tips, and E-Brakes

Hi, i've been checking out this forum for a few months and it's just about the best i've seen so far. I dont have a diesel now, but when I graduate HS in may i'm gonna buy me a 3500 HO 6spd 4x4. I'm trying to get an idea of what i'm gonna do performance wise and get an idea of what it is gonna cost me. So, let me get to my first 2 questions. I would like to put 5 inch dual exhaust(y-ed out of course cause you cant put true duals on a straight 6,) and then put 6 inch tips(straight tips not turn downs.) What would this sound like, loud, deep or what, where I could get it done in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area, and about how much it would cost. Now the 2nd question. I know that a Jake brake on a straight piped semi makes that awsome sound. But If I get a jake brake for the cummins will it still sound the same way? Basiclly what i'm trying to say is does anyone make an exhaust brake which used with straight exhaust makes the loud sound like a semi. I know this is long,but at least i explained with some detail!! Thanks!!
Old 09-15-2003, 09:40 PM
Thats MR Hoss to you buddy!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Re:5" Exhaust with 6" Tips, and E-Brakes

To answer your second question, no. That "awesome sound" you hear coming from semi's is from an engine brake. These trucks have an exhaust brake. All you'll hear is a "whooshing" sound.....at least from what I'm told (I've never heard one).
Old 09-15-2003, 09:46 PM
Administrator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Wouldn't it be great if our trucks made that sound though?

That's my challenge to the aftermarket guys, make an affordable engine brake for the Cummins ISB, that will fit under the hood of the Dodge.