Performance and Accessories 2nd gen only Talk about Dodge/Cummins aftermarket products for second generation trucks here. Can include high-performance mods, or general accessories.

01 Cummins with auto

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2006, 06:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
01 Cummins with auto

How much can I safely increase my torque with the 01 auto tranny?
Do I need to beef up the tranny for 100-200 foot pound increase?
Thanks for any help I am brnd new to diesels.
TBelue
Old 04-29-2006, 06:33 PM

I'm not an expert, but most say that a 60hp/150 ft lbs box is the most the stock auto will take

I would say build it before you BOMB. DTT, Suncoast, Goerand, etc
Old 04-29-2006, 07:00 PM

It's hard to say. Mine didn't last with just an ez but some people can get away with more.

You're usually safe with an ez if you don't have too many miles and aren't too hard on it.

Good luck and start saving.
Old 04-30-2006, 09:17 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Driving style makes a big difference. If you are careful... and if your stock tranny is reasonably healthy, 200 ft-lbs should not cause problems.

Change Filter & Fluid (Synthetics would help keep the tranny happy) and get gauges before adding any power!!

RJ
Old 04-30-2006, 11:34 AM

Mine was fine with 4 inch exhaust, intake and an Edge comp but that was pushing it. Mine went as soon as I decided to do 4wd launches on 37s
Old 04-30-2006, 11:35 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts