Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

welder/generator/electrical question

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2004, 11:29 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
welder/generator/electrical question

Hi all.

I know there are a few of you on this site who have a good deal of elctrical knowledge and know how.

I am by NO means an electrician

I have a 10 hp generator, 6250 watts max output, rated for 5000 continuous.

I'm wondering if I can run a 220 mig welder off this geneartor?? especially for emergency off site equipment repair

Generator is equipped with 220 outlet.

can't seem to find required input power on welder.

What about a regular old arc welder?? ( I think migs take less power though)

I imagine a big load like that would be relatively hard on the generator, especially since it is not study, ie. welding..... not welding........ spikes in amperage draw etc.
But.... it's not like I'd be doing it all day every day.
I'm not that worried about the generator.

Just wondering if it's possible.

Thank you.
Old 02-04-2004, 01:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Watts = volts x amps
Therefore: 5000 W divided by 220 V = 22.7 amps

Depending on how many amps your welder puts out, your machine could require as much as 60 amps input at maximum output power.

You can probably weld 1/4" steel with it, but nothing thicker. If your generator has a circuit breaker, or overload protection you can try welding thicker materials to see if it'll work. Don't try anything thicker than 1/4" it if there's no overload protection or you'll fry the generator.
Old 02-04-2004, 08:51 PM

Thanks Welder 27.

I know the Amps x Volts = watts

but I haven't been able to find required input power on Welder.

(small lincoln, 220, with gas solenoid)

Generator is circuit protected (with a breaker) so I guess I'll just have to try it and give it a whirl.

1/4" eh?? better than nothing I guess.