Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Soldering technique

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2007, 06:04 AM
Chapter President

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Soldering technique

I have to make some throttle cables for some VW trikes that I have built....some I bought cable making supply's but need to solder on the barrel end onto the wire its a brass barrel and steel wire
Would silver solder be best ?? and I know its harder to work with silver solder are there any tricks to get a good joint should I use a oxy/acetylene as a heat source rather then a propane torch
I know silver soldering take skill but I need to know any tricks to use because I dont have time to practice
Old 08-25-2007, 06:43 AM
Administrator

Received 40 Likes on 34 Posts
Propane torch should be plenty enough heat.

Silver solder is unfamiliar territory for me. I am an electronics technician , and all of my soldering experience is on circuit boards and RF connectors. If silver solder is anything like elex soldering, get the item hot BEFORE you apply the solder, this prevents a cold solder joint that could fail.
Old 08-25-2007, 07:08 AM

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Silver solder isn't too bad. Just make sure everything is clean, and get the parts hot enough to wick the solder into the connection, but with small parts like that it could be easy to get them too hot with either propane or oxy/acetylene...

Do you have a solder tip for the propane torch? It may take a minute or so to get things hot enough that way, but it may give you more control of the heat...
Old 08-25-2007, 08:43 AM

Received 263 Likes on 235 Posts
For the old VW engines we usually took the barrel end with a setscrew to fix it where we wanted instead of soldering it.