Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Remodeling the bathroom

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2007, 10:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Remodeling the bathroom

Well, the upstairs bathroom needs to be remodeled. I've never done anything like this before. I know I'm fully capable of doing it, I just think I'm getting into a project that's a whole lot more involved than I may think. I'm basically pulling everything out except the stool and the floor tile. Everything else will be replaced (tub, tile surround, sink, vanity, vent fan). To those who have done a project on this scale, have any advice?
Old 05-21-2007, 01:54 AM

Im remodeling my house and for me I have found out unless you like that kind of project hire somebody. Its not that hard to do but unless you take your time and make sure all measurements are right, tiles are straight, and trim matches up it will look like it was done by an amature and you will not be happy. Thats JUST my experiance though and im by no means saying dont do it just make sure you know what your getting into before you start. O and figure twice as much money and three times as much time as the project looks like.
Old 05-21-2007, 07:43 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by idacal
O and figure twice as much money and three times as much time as the project looks like.
This is bang on the money. Bathrooms are expensive and a lot of work. There's always a few surprises along the way. Mine took about 2 weeks. We never had another bathroom on the main level. I learned really quick to stop all fluid intake at about 8 PM. It was a long way to the downstairs bathroom at 4 AM. The wife wouldn't let me bring the Porta-Potty in from the camper.