Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Question for the HAM guys on here

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2008, 11:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question for the HAM guys on here

Hey guys, i have a few questions about the numbers stations that broadcast on shortwave that ive been reading about.

Im sure most HAM operators know of these "stations" but if not, read up on "numbers stations" and "conet project".

I have zero experience with radios except tuning my truck am/fm radio, walke talkies, and my radioshack pro-91 scanner (and i even dont know how to fully use that beside just "scanning" ).

Anyways, i want to tune into these stations somehow? Mainly just out of curiosty. Ive heard i can do it with a reg am radio, but not too sure on that. Ive found lots of resources stating UTC times and freq. of stations that commonly broadcast. Shoot i dont even know if i can hear one were im located (richmond, va).

What do yall think?
Old 01-07-2008, 11:49 AM

I think you missed the part where you mentioned "short wave" , that means on short wave range , not on AM .

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Numbers_station
Old 01-07-2008, 02:03 PM

I just thought that because the guy who produced the conet project 1st heard the broadcasts on an am radio, like i said i dont know anything about radio freq. and such.
Old 01-07-2008, 04:14 PM
Administrator

Received 40 Likes on 34 Posts
One of the easiest ways to understand frequency is this: Frequency is the number of cycles in 1 second of time. Frequency is measured in Hertz (Hz), and before it was called Hertz, is was known as cycles.

A great example is the electricity (AC power) in your house. It operates at a frequency of 60 Hz (60 cycles per second), regardless of circuit voltage.