Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

In a Quandry

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2010, 01:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
In a Quandry

Well, I recieved a surprise call today from a headhunter. He said that he has a couple of mechanical contractors that are in need of a project manager, and after some background checking, I am the guy that fits their bill.

I have been working for the company that I am with now, for over 4 years. It is a really small company and I have been instrumental in getting it off of the ground. Before I came on board, they just sub-contracted work for other mechanicals. I pushed their envelope and started them into full fledged mechanical contracting work, (which did not interfere with their existing work base). The company has come a really long way in these 4 years and I feel priveleged to have been instrumental to that growth.

My dilemma is that, now I am being offered more than one chance at making more money, in a time of unknown economic growth. The type of work I specialize in is one that is barely affected by the current economy, especially here in Houston (I specialize in HVAC for the medical industry). I cherish the idea of making more money, but I feel I will let down those I have helped grow a small business. My current position has room for growth in the future, but the new position will allow for more rapid growth in that both companies are larger and have an almost unlimited (it seems), potential.