Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

PC troubles...need expert help

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2003, 10:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PC troubles...need expert help

i need an expert. i have an excellent computer background but this has me stumped. I have a home built PC i have been running for several months with out any problems the last few days soemthing is causeing the disk drive and 1 cd drive to cycle using up my processor. this is windows XP and amd chip at 1.4 mhz the newest ASUS mother board 8x AGP graphics card cable modem and so on.... The task manager shows cpu usage up and down from abot 45% to 80% and system idle process at about 90. This problem usually does not accure till after the computer has been running awhile. There doesnt seem to be anything i can detect doin this. My virus defs are up to date and been scanned all drive have been checked for errors and defraged. this is getting annoying and i have had it happen before on another machine. it was correct by a fresh intall of the operating system which i am trying to avoid.. <br>Dan
Old 05-10-2003, 11:30 PM
Administrator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re:PC troubles...need expert help