Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

New to Dodge 1500 (front bearing question)

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2010, 01:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to Dodge 1500 (front bearing question) 4x4

Hi guyz Im a shade-tree mechanic working in my driveway on my back so tips and tricks help greatly. This is my first dodge product..got me a 1998 ram 1500 ....I need to do a front bearing for the driverside I have read most every post on it i can find for it on the forum... got all the right tools 10mm hex head for calipers, 12pt 14mm socket for 3 bolts on back, 6 point 1-11/16 socket for the axle nut ....even watch some vids on utube...
but i still have questions :

1.) The 3 bolts that need the 14mm socket that holds bearing assembly. I will need to remove these again down the line to do a inner seal thats weaping ever so slightly (what is the torque setting for reinstaling , and can i use anti-seize for easy removal later ?)

2.) The 1-11/16 axle nut Ive read several ways of breaking it loose from jumping on the breaker bar or putting a jack on it and jacking bar up even leaveing the bar resting on the ground and backing the vehicle up a little useing weight of truck to snap it loose.(all seem a bit abusive to drive train to me ) Heat seams to be popular way but all I have is plumber tourch and have found it to be lacking in the past. I have a bench with vice but i think this axle has more beef than my bench can take so breaking it loose in truck would at least hold it for me ... any tips on best way? (what is the torque setting for reinstaling , and can i use anti-seize for easy removal later ?)

3.) I need a good book about my truck, diagrams are king the local auto parts has chilton manuals they lack good illustrations any favorites you guyz use?