Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Need advice...Considering ARMY ROTC

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2008, 11:25 AM
Chapter President

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Need advice...Considering ARMY ROTC

Has anyone gone thought the ROTC program? If so what are your thoughts? What position or job did you have after completing the program? What is the pay and benefits like if you don't mind sharing?

Here is my current situation, (sorry for being long winded) i currently am attending Penn State and am perusing a IST (information science and technology) degree. I am in my third semester. I am paying my tuition all by my lonesome with out any support from my parents. So that is playing a large roll in my life now. From what i have heard the army will pay for my last 2 year if i qualify.

I do sorta like what i am doing but i am not the type of person that will want a job sitting in a office all day. My entire family is blue collar workers so that is what i have been brought up around.

I know i want to join but i don't want a future/career where i am going to be away from my family (currently engaged getting married in 09) all the time. So if anyone has any experiences or advice it would be great.
Old 02-19-2008, 11:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I didn't go ROTC but went straight active duty Airforce. I commend you on evaluating the option of joining the service.

It can be tough on a family and there's no guarantee you won't travel or be stationed far away. But wherever you get a permenant duty assignment, your family gets put up there with you. Temporary duty assignments away from family aren't usually longer than three months from what I saw. And it's so much easier to stay in touch these days with the internet and cheaper calling plans/cell phones.