Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Looking for a New Truck for the Folks

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2003, 11:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for a New Truck for the Folks

OK, I'm new to this whole posting thing. I have always been a Ford girl until BigBlue converted me. Anyways, I am the only one in my family that is the slightest bit intersted in trucks, so my knowledge is limited, but I am trying to learn. I drive an automatic Cummins 3500 dually for work (when I'm not driving the 550 ;D) and I really like hauling with it. My parents have just bought a ranch and are looking for a bigger truck (they think their F-150 is big) to haul their stock trailer with. Would you recomend a auto or standard for hauling? Why? Or is there no differance other than preferance? Is there anything else you would take into account when looking for a truck that is going to be doing alot of hauling (especailly up hills)? I know these are alot of questions, but like I said, I am just learning.<br>
Old 06-16-2003, 03:18 PM
Thats MR Hoss to you buddy!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Re:Looking for a New Truck for the Folks

Personally...for heavy hauling I wouldn't have anything BUT a standard. Others may disagree...but I've just always been of the mindset that manual transmissions are better for hauling and pulling (just look at big rigs). Plus...they're more fun to drive. ;D <br><br>Oh yeah.....and of COURSE they need to get a Cummins. ;D
Old 06-16-2003, 03:39 PM

DLD<br>I agree with .....Hoss. j/k Yea I agree with him if you gonna be towing like you have said then I would diffenitly get 5 or 6spd. But thing is I would get a 12v goodies are alot cheaper. ;D But Standard would be better for gearing wise and stuff like that. Have fun when you get the new truck.<br><br>[sub]p.s.....get a 12v like me.[/sub]<br><br>SD03
Old 06-16-2003, 04:56 PM