Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

Any other gold prospector's here?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2005, 09:31 PM
Chapter President

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Any other gold prospector's here?

The nasty little bug has bitten again. I've come down with GOLD FEVER ! Drives my wife crazy . I use to dredge for a living in Chicken, Alaska, I was a diver/nozzleman, some of the best fun you can stand, if you like the water. Found a little of the yellow stuff allready this summer and heading uot for a 3 day hunt this coming weekend. Anyone else here on the site that catches this nasty little bug?
Old 06-22-2005, 12:04 AM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
you bet......my brother and dad more than me. Brother's got a keene dredge, and I think a high banker. I haven't been for a while, but when the fever hits, it definitely consumes you. I'm sure Northslope will chime in here sometime soon. My Dad's a member, but i don't even know his handle. I think he's more of a reader than a poster. Anyway, good luck on the hunt.
Old 06-22-2005, 12:09 AM

I've done it off and on for quite a while... mostly panning and running sluice box. I have seen the larger scale dredging operations and watched the type that you do on the Gold Fever tv show.

My old man was a mining engineer so I was diggin the dirt for one thing or another for most of my formative years.

He spent some time in Ketchican, Ak. when I was born. I assume that was for gold as well.

Good luck with it ... even if you don't find much and very often, it is still a great way to get outdoors and have fun.

PISTOL
Old 06-22-2005, 07:17 AM

I'm another one of those dirt grubbers.
This is prime time for the hobby, and I'm at it three out of four weekends. My primary tool is a 4 inch Keene dredge.
I leave Friday for a nice little vacation. Be back after the 4th of July.