Other Everything else not covered in the main topics goes here. Please avoid brand and flame wars. Don't try and up your post count. It won't work in here.

9 April, 2010, Submarine Qualified - wear dolpins to work

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2010, 11:53 AM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
9 April, 2010, Submarine Qualified - wear dolpins to work

saw this, sounds like a good fella:

Wear your Dolphins to work day

I'm a retired Master Chief. 20 years in the Submarine Force. A former COB, former Squadron CMC, 13 Years at sea. I loved standing Planesman watch, and I loved standing Dive. As I got really old, I realized that being a submariner (or a bubblehead or a squid or...) had significantly influenced my post Navy life. After I retired from the Canoe Club, I worked in the semiconductor industry , an industry that most people think of as being very high stress. But after being off depth while standing Dive going through the Straits of Gibraltar, I thought it was pretty easy going. I had a very successful second career, and retired from it to learn how to do oil paintings of ships and cars and airplanes . (I said I was really old.) One day I decided to have silver Dolphins embroidered on some of my shirts, and as time went by a number of guys commented on my fish. Many of them said their Dolphins were the only Navy memento they still had. Some mentioned the fun of going to the Submarine Birthday Ball. We often traded sea stories, and we each went our own way. Life as an ex-bubblehead geezer was pretty good.