HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Stumped with Low/No Fuel Pressure

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2009, 03:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stumped with Low/No Fuel Pressure

I'm not a mechanic, but I do love my truck. I'd really appreciate figuring out what to do with this problem...
About a week ago, I was driving fine but up a steep grade, when I suddenly lost fuel pressure, them power to to the truck. I assumed I'd run out of fuel, and then when I determined I had had fuel, that I was sucking air in the line somehow.
I took it to a mechanic, who replaced a leaky fuel line, and sent me home.
Then, the truck had very low power, and my fuel pressure gauge (an ISSPRO) was reading at 0. It seemed, from research on these forums, and also from checking out the truck, that the proble could very well be with the lift pump.
I took it back to the mechanic, and told them that I wanted the fuel pressure fixed and that it may be the lift pump.
They replaced the lift pump, the fuel filter (which was only a few months old anyway) and cleaned a screen that the fule goes through, and sent me on my way. Th truck dorve great for a couple of mile, and steadily lost power- no pick up, slow, would cut out if i tried to go any faster than 40 mph or so. I took it back to them, and they blew out the lines, and said they couldn't find a restriction. They also changed the return valve, which they said controls fuel pressure, but it didn't help.
So my truck is still not running the way I need it to. I am totally stumped (and no longer working with the mechanics I took the truck to..)

The truck has a new WVO system and has run flawlessly for six months or so. We use a FASS pump for the grease, and have an auxiliary tank for diesel- the stock tank we use for veg.All the problem have come up while I was running on diesel, though.