HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Starting Trouble...Transfer Pump?

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2002, 12:09 PM
hlc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Starting Trouble...Transfer Pump?

Greetings.<br>This is my first time on the site and it looks like there is a wealth of info here. I did a search and could not find an answer to my specific problem so here goes.<br><br>I have a 93 D250 with 113k miles. Runs great and has never given me a moments trouble in the 50K that I've had it...until last night. Turned the key and the engine turned over but did not &quot;fire&quot;. After about 15 minutes of looking for obvious things, I reached in and pumped the handle on, what I assume is, the transfer pump. Turned the key and it fired right up. Drove about an hour, shut down, cranked right up about 5 hours later. The next morning, cranked right up, drove about 30 minutes, shut down, tried to crank about 10 minutes later and had same problem as the night before. Reached in a pumped the handle again and it still wouldn't start. Kept trying (pumping and turning key) for about 5 or 10 minutes and it finally started. Another thing I noticed while pumping the little handle was that I could pump it once and then it was like the handle wasn't attached to anything. I could wait a few seconds and try again and I could feel &quot;pressure&quot; then nothing again. Kind of like the plunger or whatever the handle was attached to was sticking. I drove straight to the dealer (did not shut it off) went to the parts counter, described the problem, and they said that it sounded like a transfer pump. I said okay I'll take one. When he told me it would be $399 I said let me go do some homework. If this were a $50 part I would throw one on and try it out but for $399 I want to make sure. Sorry for the long winded post but just wanted to get all the details in. Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 12-19-2002, 03:30 PM