HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Sparatic Dead peddle

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2006, 10:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sparatic Dead peddle

Hello everyone.
I am relatively new to the diesel world but have learned a ton over the passed 4 months from this forum. My problem is this. . .
this has happened twice now. a few days ago in the morning during the first 10-15 minutes of operation (the truck was up to temp) my I experienced what I think is refered to as dead peddle (the power would cut out sparaticly for a few seconds here and there even when I was pressing the peddle) it lasted a few minutes and then was fine the rest of the day and the next couple of days as well. My first reaction was I thought it was the VP44 and kind of hoped it was because my warrenty ends in a couple of months and I only have 67000 miles so I would get it fixed for free. So I checked the codes expecting somthing to show up for the fule injector but only got 1693 and I have had that for a while and the companion code in the truck when I checked it a couple of months ago was "turbo limit exceeded" I determined from research that it was probable the waste gate stuck closed so i don't think that has anything to do with it because I have had that code for a while but corect me if I am wrong. So anyway this morning I was driving on the freeway and the same thing happened again, sparatic dead peddle. I also noticed the fuel economy computer was giving me unrealistic readings at times for example (29-32 mpg when it should be reading 17-19 mpg) this was happening even when it wasn't cutting out. Again after a few minutes the problem seemed to go away.
Any suggestions/comments would be greatly apreciated.
Old 01-05-2006, 10:48 PM

I forgot to mention that my fuel pressure is good (18psi at idel and never droping below 10 psi)

could it be my apps and wouldnt' the apps or the vp44 leave a code?

thanks again