HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Newbie screaming "Help"... ignition problems?

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2007, 11:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie screaming "Help"... ignition problems?

1991 W350 laid down on me. When I turn ignition switch on, I have nothing. No gauges, radio, starter, clicking, just the buzzer letting me know the key is in the ignition. I checked to see if I have power to the key switch and I had 2 hots coming in. Where do I need to start and what do I need to look for? I'm not a mechanic, just a parts changer and I don't won't to start guessing. Thanks!
Old 09-13-2007, 12:08 PM

This isn't going to help you much.

Look in your local directory for a Auto electric call him up and ask him this question. At the same time ask him how much he thinks it would cost him to fix the problem for you.

I had an electrical problem with a vehicle and it was driving me crazy. I gave up to it to an Auto Electrical guy...he fixed it within two hours and charged me $100 bucks. it was a problem in behind the dash and he rerouted the problem...I wouldn't have know how to find it, or fix it and in the end I felt that $100 bucks was a great price.

Other than that...since you have power to your key I would find the Schematic for your vehicle and see the point that your ignition switch branches off and see how it can be getting power but nothing else.

Sounds to me like you would have a total power failure which would be the Main Cable, but since your ignition switch has some power that might not be the case....Turn your lights on, open the hood and start tapping and wiggling things. like the cables....

Double check to make sure you haven't blown a bunch of fuses....

Like I said I know this doesn't help much.