HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Help with Used Dodge shopping

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2003, 01:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help with Used Dodge shopping

I am looking at a 98 with a 24 V Cummins (120k mi.) w/ automatic trans and I am a diesel rookie. What specifically should I be concerned about engine wise? Is there anything specific about this year and model that I should be concerned about? Thanks in advance for any help!
Old 07-23-2003, 04:11 PM

Re:Help with Used Dodge shopping

Dunkster7,
I have the same truck and love it. Had to put on a new lift pump at 44k and a new TC at 45k. Had to have it reflashed at 48k. I now have 83k on it and since it was bought originally in Sept. I'm near the 5yrs. on the 100k/5yr warranty.

Are you buying from a dealer? If so have them check the computer and see that all the recalls have been taken care of and what warranty work has been done. If you're not buying from a Dodge dealer, write down the VIN and take that to a dealer and have them check it for you. If a new lift pump has not been installed under warranty, check your fuel pressure - if it is low have them put on a new lift pump before you buy the truck. Check the tranny out closely.

At 81k I did all four brakes - pads, shoes, and grease seals. The rear shoes were not wore out but they were soaked with grease from leaking grease seals. I'd pull all the wheels and check all pads and shoes and look closely for leaking seals.

If you've heard stories about real good mileage the stories are more than likely from those with stick shift. Most of us with 4X4, 355 diffs. and automatics are getting about 15 MT and 10 pulling. :'(

If you don't mind my asking, how much $$$ for the truck. If you do mind, don't tell me.

Good luck and I'm sure you'll love the truck. Welcome to the site and welcome to CTD.

Stan
Old 07-23-2003, 04:47 PM
Administrator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post