HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

EGT Probe Install...

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2004, 03:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EGT Probe Install...

Hello DTR posters!

After many long hours spent on a lengthy CTD mod project, I'm nearing the end of the list. At this point, I'm ready to start on the thermocouple install.

I've done quite a bit of searching for info on the correct drill bit and tap to use for this, but have been confused by technical variations I've read.

As far as I can tell [after looking at photos on the ISSPRO website], I've got a model R658 thermocouple. The particulars are as follows: the OD of the silver probe itself is 1/4". The male gold fitting that appears to hold the probe in the manifold is 1/2"-18 NPT [according to a web procedure I found dedicated to thread measurement].

Anyway...I'm no expert on threads and such, so I'd like feedback prior to "punching into" my manifold

Have a great one,
Bill
Old 09-18-2004, 03:43 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Better make sure your tap and drill match your probe/adapter. I think mine was 1/8 probe and 1/4 npt brass adapter. I dont know what Issopro ## I have but better play it safe.
Old 10-08-2004, 11:45 PM

Follow up...

These threads are no good to anyone if the questions are never answered, and the solutions are not recorded, so here goes...

If you're installing an ISSPRO R658 thermocouple with a probe OD of 1/4,” you’ll need a drill bit index running up to at least 7/16" [for the final hole] AND a 1/4 - 18 NPT thread tap.

First, locate the exhaust manifold passages running down toward the turbocharger. As you'll see, there are two passages running together, separated only by an internal steel wall. These passages form a "double hump" at the top of the manifold. The hump to be tapped is on the left [closest to the cab of the truck].