HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

Dealer wants 2,500. for front end

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2004, 04:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dealer wants 2,500. for front end

I'm a back yard mechanic and would like to know what repair manual would be the best to purchase. I have been told that I need to replace all the ball joints, tracking bars and the inter rods (?) by the dealership on my 3500 dodge ram 1 ton 4x4 pickup truck.
If any one has any sugestion about the repair or is the dealership is full of it? Okay here goes, this is what my truck is doing. It wears the inside of the left front tire and pulls to the right while driving. but there is no pulling either way during braking. It does wander a little during driving but no shimmying.
Any recommendation on the replacement parts would be welcomed.

Bill
Old 05-02-2004, 04:41 PM
Banned

If you question the opinion of the dealership take it to another garage and have them look at it. Wandering during driving may indicate loose suspension parts. Tire wear is usually worn suspension components, tires or alignment. If you are competent to repair your truck yourself you should be able to also diag it.
Old 05-02-2004, 07:47 PM

First take a look at your trac bar. This is the weekest link in the front end of our trucks. DO NOT REPLACE the trac bar if it is worn. Order the "Lukes Link" to repair the ball joint end. Also order a polyurithane bushing kit for the other end. I did both of these to my truck and it corrected most of the wandering problem. A worn trac bar can also cause the tires to wear uneven.

How many miles are on your truck?
Old 05-02-2004, 10:37 PM