HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

2000 5 speed clutch gone?

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2004, 01:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 5 speed clutch gone?

ok ,this is dads truck . its a 2000 (isb) 2500 5 speed 4x4. i drove his truck today after he said it seems to be slipping in 4th - and, it is. from my understanding, there is no adjustment possible on it - right? i have read numerous recommendations on the south bend . are there any others? also, i remember reading in the past that there are other things to check for once the tranny is out - what are they? thrust bearing , main shaft bearings, etc? his transmission seems to always make like a soft "grind" or vibration noise as where my 97 never did- does that mean that the main shaft bearings are junk? i have changed manual clutches before (although im no expert) on vehicles with far less component weight. is this something that i can do on the garage floor? if i use a trans jack , will i be able to remove it from under the vehicle? do i remove the transfer case first? any advice will be appreciated greatly! strange thing is that he only has 86,000 miles on it- but, he did buy it used. if we shouldnt do it ourselves, what type of shop would be best suited/equipped/ trained to handle this (dealerships are completely out of the question and i would like to find a shop that knows the idiosyncrasies of this vehicle because i have heard of people having problems with trans alignment, etc causing problems)? also, if anyone knows of a GOOD shop within an hour of pittsburgh, pa - please let us know.
Old 12-24-2004, 06:53 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post