HELP! If you have an EMERGENCY situation with your truck, or you need IMMEDIATE technical help, use this board.

1999 International 4700

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2008, 05:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1999 International 4700

I am new to the world of diesel trucks, so please forgive my ignorance.

I purchased a international 4700 from a well known company last year. The truck has a DT 466E engine with 180,000 miles on it. When I first received it during the winter, I noticed a little smoke coming from it on start up. I was told that there was nothing to worry about and that white smoke at start-up is common in the cold months and to simply keep it plugged in during the cold days and nights when it was not being used. So I did. Shortly after that, I began to notice that the acceleration of the truck, in particular, when going up hills was practically non-existant. The most I could get on an incline was 30 to 35 miles per hour and the truck was not close to full...I also began to notice heavy white smoke coming out of the exhaust. I was told by the seller to get all of the fluids and filters changed then everything should be fine. So I did.

Well, a short while later, I lost a fuel injector, it blew up! The heaviest black smoke I had seen since the wicked witch of the west told dorothy to surrender in Oz.