General Diesel Discussion Talk about general diesel engines (theory, etc.) If it's about diesel, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, then put it right in here.

Question about deceleration.

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2004, 09:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question about deceleration.

Some time back in a post about mileage someone stated that we should take advantage of the coasting ability of our trucks. I am new to diesels and I don't understand why a diesel should coast better than a gas engine. My experience with gas engines is that a high compression engine will decelerate faster than a low compression engine. Since a diesel is a high compression engine what is the difference between gas and diesel engines that allows the diesel to coast farther?

I know that automatics don't decelerate like manuals but do the manual diesels still coast better than gas engines with manual transmissions?
Old 09-20-2004, 10:22 PM
Banned

the difference between gas and diesel engines is that the diesel engine has no throttle blade and therefore has no manifold vacuum...

on a gasser, when you let off the throttle, the engine is sucking against that closed throttle blade, and it slows it down...

on a diesel, when you let off the throttle, it simply reduces the amount of fuel that's injected... the engine takes a full gulp of air and there is no vacuum to work against... it has to compress that air, but the compressed air pushes right back down on the piston, so a diesel will coast much farther.

Forrest
Old 09-21-2004, 09:04 AM

When you relase the throttle completely back to idle while rolling the IP pump is no longer injecting fuel to any cylinders.

This why EGT will drop quicklly when coasting. If you want the same effect on a gasser run it up to speed and cut the ignition and hold the throttle wide open. You got a diesel engine...

That why they made Jakes for diesels...
Old 09-21-2004, 09:19 AM

Originally posted by Mopar1973man