4th Gen Ram -Non Drivetrain- 2010 and Up Talk about the 2010 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Installing fender flares on 3500 HD

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2011, 01:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Installing fender flares on 3500 HD

Hello Gang,

Im a newbie and proud owner of an 11' 3500 HD cab/chassis.
This truck came with every option I needed except the look of a 4500. So I drove down to the dealer and ordered a set of the black plastic flares you see running down the freeway on all the tow trucks. Im thinking easy.. pop rivets and double sided tape from the factory. Nope.. looks like im going to have to do some drilling into my new truck

Im up for it but need a template before the drill bit touches paint. I asked the guy at the dealer to verify that the part number for the fenders between 3500 and 4500 are the same and he said yes? So do all the fenders come without holes and bodyshops have to drill them when a 4500 gets smacked? Confused.

Thanks for any insight.

Vinnie
Old 08-11-2011, 07:58 PM

Flares for my 03 came pre-drilled to match the same holes that my inner fender liners used. Then there were additional clips, that snapped over both the flare and fender lip.

I do not believe I would drill to install flares... that's just me. I forget what brand flares I have, the name or brand was 3 letters...can't remember what they were, they sold them in JC Whitney catalog.
Old 08-11-2011, 10:42 PM

Thanks for the response. Yeah theres something about drilling into a perfectly good fender that bugs me. I really like the look. I called our bodyshop (I work at a dealership) and he told me that they have to do that on many fenders and they make templates. Most manufactures dont predrill otherwise they have to stock both types of fenders. Crazy. So I think I will let them have a stab at it. I told them I want to see there work before the flare goes on. I think I offended them but Im just trying to keep them honest lol.