3rd Generation Ram - Non Drivetrain - All Years Talk about the 2003 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Stoopid Newbie DRW Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2007, 09:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stoopid Newbie DRW Questions

OK, I'm in the market and been considering a drw, so humor me here:

How wide can you go on rear tires before running outside the wells? (I like big tires but only if tucked in). I know spacers are needed and the tire size choices are limited. How close to the outer edge of the fender are the stock tires? (Mega Cab DRW)

Why does the front wheel stick out? (convex rather than concave)
Hey, I said I was a newbie!

Does the front axle use a spacer? Otherwise is it the same as SRW? So, if the answer is yes, couldn't you find a wheel style that is made both in SRW and DRW like the Rockstar and use a regular (SRW) wheel up front with a big fat tire and 2 skinnier versions of that tire for the rear (assuming same diameter if you could find it)? (Pretend the spare isn't the issue here.)

Read here that the rear axle is wider than stock. How much wider? Why is that? (It doesn't make sense to me). Is that the only difference? If so, couldn't you swap in a SRW rear axle and gain some room to tuck wider tires in under the wells?

I'm specifically interested in the Mega DRW since only the enlightened few like them and you can get a killer deal on them right now since they aren't selling. I've also been toying with a slide-in camper in my future...

Thanks!
Old 10-28-2007, 09:56 AM

? dude you must be like 17?
JK

Not sure on how wide you can go but for your case it might be cheeper just to get a single rear wheel truck and stick your 44 irocks on it.
Old 10-28-2007, 10:05 AM

OK wiseguy, I'm 46, live on 22 acres in the mountains and am probably more man than you'll ever be.