3rd Generation Ram - Non Drivetrain - All Years Talk about the 2003 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

Rim Consternation

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2008, 04:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rim Consternation

OK Guys -- I'm frustrated.

I've got an `06 QC LB 4x4 2500 that I want to upsize the tires a bit. However, I'm really shocked/appalled/angry at the almost total lack of choice. I want something that has a bigger offset to fill out the fender flares and take up a little more space in the wheel well than the stockers. However, I don't want any rub (I'm willing to consider a lift if that's whats req'd). Moreover, I don't want to give up any hauling capacity. I'm about to pull the trigger on a 30' toy hauler and want the load rating too. I'm new to all of the truck stuff, and all I really know about tires have been using Hoosiers and RA-1s for my 350z for race days. I suppose I could go to Fikse and have them custom build me a set, but $800/rim for my truck seems extreme (but for some reason doesn't offend me for my car )

I was thinking I'd need something like 17x9 or 17x10 to make sure the bead is secure with something like a 305, but I'm not sure. And what offset is going to be appropriate to clear the suspension, etc.

I've been doing searches, but all that most people are doing are H2 wheels and those are 17x7.5 with who knows what load rating.

Also, I've got the Atlantic Blue, and want to avoid completely blacked out rims. Thoughts all? Help a noob out?
Old 03-15-2008, 04:21 PM

One more thought... I want to avoid the truck looking like it's in a rap video -- think tasteful instead of Bling-y.
Old 03-15-2008, 04:26 PM

Check out NTWonline.com They'll be ably to help you as much as anyone here can.
Old 03-15-2008, 04:55 PM