3rd Generation Ram - Non Drivetrain - All Years Talk about the 2003 and up Dodge Ram here. PLEASE, NO ENGINE OR DRIVETRAIN DISCUSSION!.

No Drill 5th Wheel Hitch?

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2004, 01:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question No Drill 5th Wheel Hitch?

Hello Everyone,

For you 5th wheel owners out there have you heard of this? I’m new to Dodge trucks and diesels for that matter. Just got my new 04.5 1 ton a few months ago, and ordered a new Pilgrim 5th wheel trailer. The Dealer puts on a new 5th wheel hitch for me but says they “Have to use a new install kit” for it. The Dealers says they CANNOT drill into the frame of any new Dodge (Per Dodge they say) or ‘Box Framed” vehicle for that matter. Instead they installed this kit that has brackets of a short that clamp to the frame in four spots, two on each side of the frame with bolts and the 5th wheel hitch attaches to these brackets instead of the using the frame.

Maybe this is ok, just never anyone talk about it before, anyone have any feedback on this type of install? Good or bad?

Thanks
Old 06-23-2004, 01:56 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
My Pullrite Superglide has a "no-drill" rail kit. It's true that you should not drill the frame. However, I understood that there are very strict DC guidelines available for when you have to. My kit installed with the rear bracket utilizing existing frame holes and clamping on in front as you described. The rail system I have is completely removable leaving a flat bed with 4 holes in it.

Neil
Old 06-23-2004, 05:56 PM

Pullrite's no drill brackets are works of art in my opinion. Very well designed and they do use existing holes in the frame where possible. While there are guidelines for drilling the frame, I opted not to do that on my truck. I wasn't taking any chances.

Casey
Old 06-23-2004, 07:05 PM

Pullrite SuperGlide is the BOMB